Mind-melding Modular synths, MainStage 3 & Player systems. | Shueh-li Ong | Pulse | LinkedIn

The Urban Link

My ol’ pal Michael Spicer and I (Electric Muse) got together to do a show-&-tell and some playing.I had been using LogicPro and MainStage for several years[1]. I write and record with LP, and use its companion app for live performance. LP and MS share AU plugins & synths[2], so if I chose to use the sounds created for my LP project, I can simply plot what I require for live concert in MS. Event changes would be assigned to midi controllers or controllable icons on the MS workspace[3]. The workspace is a blackbox theatre-like space that can be configured any which way, for even as an improv system. (Read also extended synth techniques)It had been quite a number of years since Electric Muse worked on a project, so we decided to meld our technologies (Michael’s was modular synth tricks on his Eurorack[4]) with improv as the technical goal. For…

View original post 36 more words

Leave a Reply

